Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration

The Indian National Congress has founded this prestigious award for National Integration in the honor of former first woman Prime Minister of India, Smt. Indira Gandhi. The Congress Party started this award after the tragic death of Indira Gandhi on 31st October 1984. This award is given since 1985 annually to institutions or distinguished persons for promoting countrywide Integration and indulgence among communities, cultures, ethnic groups, religious groups, traditions and languages of India with strengthening thought and action of national wisdom of harmony. An advisory committee of renowned persons from science, art, education, culture, social work, public life and law is constituted to select the awardees. The award is conferred on 31 October, the Martyrdom Day and carries a citation and INR 5 lakh cash. The award is accorded to the recognized and exceptionally deserving service in the field for three continuous years including the award year.


Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration Recipients


This Award has been accorded so far  to   number of activists of repute some of them are M.S. Subalakhmi, Shri Rajiv Gandhi, Smt. Aruna Asaf Ali, Swami Ranganathananda (1987), Acharya Tulsi, Shri P.N. Haksar, Bishambhar Nath Pande, APJ Abdul Kalam, Shri Satish Dhawan, Shankar Dayal Sharma, Natwar Thakkar and Beant Singh (Posthumous)-Jointly, Shri Aman Pathik, Sunil Tamaiche and Ram Sinh Solanki-Jointly.


  • 2002: Acharya Mahaprajna
  • 2003: Shyam Benegal
  • 2004: Mahashweta Devi
  • 2005: Javed Akhtar
  • 2006: Dr. J.S. Bandukwalla and Ram Puniyani (jointly)
  • 2009: Balraj Puri
  • 2010: A. R. Rahman and Ramakrishna Mission Ashram (jointly)
  • 2011: Mohan Dharia
  • 2012: Gulzar